Throwback | #DearMe

7.1

Since I have been blogging for a long time, there are posts that I feel are worthy to be re-posted and re-shared to the world. So here’s a series that I’ve decide to start: Throwback Thursday (we are all too familiar with this already). I’ll look for old posts on my old blog that I think are still relevant and worthy of re-sharing.

For my first, here’s an open letter to my teenage self that I wrote and posted back in March of 2014.

Dear Teenage Me,

  1. Life is not all about you, bitch.

Seriously. When people are talking on the other side of the room and you see just one person looking or glancing at your way, it doesn’t automatically mean that you’re their topic of interest. You’re not that special and people aren’t obliged to talk about you.

  1. Stop being so fucking paranoid.

Not only do they not talk about you, they’re also not always out to get you. Don’t always think that people are going to do something to hurt you—physically or emotionally. I know what you went through as a child but things aren’t the same as it used to and the people around you have either changed or are completely different from the ones in your past.

  1. Heartbreaks and breakups aren’t the end of the world.

I know it hurts. Trust me, I know how much it fucking does. But it’s not going to kill you, no matter how much you feel like it would. Go ahead and cry yourself to sleep tonight but tomorrow’s another day and the best day to start over. There’s no point in holding on to those assholes (bitter? Lol, no.). You’ve got a lot more love and a lot more heartache in your future so just let go and move on.

  1. Red lipsticks are dabomb.

I know how much you hate it when Mom makes you wear red lipstick because of how pale you look (we can thank anemia for that) but seriously, red lipsticks are amazing! You just need to find that confidence in you (I know you will soon enough) and the right red shade for you (there are tons)!

  1. Alcohol’s not the solution to everything.

Inom pa more!

First of all, it’s not healthy. I know you just want to be able to forget—for at least an hour or two—all the crap that you’re going through. I get that. But girl, please. Drink fucking moderately (commercial mode)! All you’re going to get with the rate that you’re going are bad hangovers, regret from making crappy decisions (hello drunk dialing) and ulcer.

  1. Friends will get you through some serious shit.

Hold on to the people around you. They’ll be there for you through everything and be very, very thankful to them because you’re going to go through a lot. Don’t do anything that will push them away. Take care of the friends that you have now because they are definitely for keeps.

  1. Hang in there.

You’re in a roller coaster of emotions, I get that. But just hang in there. You’re now 18 and are now considered an adult so you have to act and be like one. Stand up and do the right thing for yourself and for the people around you. I understand how difficult it is to stand up on your own at such an early age, to be given the responsibility of being the head of the family at 18 years old, but you have to get through it. You will get through it, honey.

At the end of the day though, if it wasn’t for you and the decisions that you made, I wouldn’t be where I am today and for that, I am very thankful.

I have now become a lot stronger and have become more capable of dealing with whatever crap comes my way. I have learned how to be happy with just myself (can you imagine that I can now go out and hang out alone and be perfectly okay with it?) and not have that constant need to have somebody by my side. I am grateful to have realized that caring too much about what other people think about me is very unhealthy and that I just have to have some confidence in myself. And I have finally learned to accept the things that I cannot change because there’s no fucking point in fighting them.

This is going to be such a cliché but, just try and be positive. This is not the end yet. It’s actually just the start of a daunting but beautiful journey. You will go through a lot but girl, just hang in there.

Love,
Your 23-year-old Self

Your almost-25-year-old self wants to say the same thing.

What d'ya think?

