Reading, Sunday Currently, Young Adult

Bookworming: The Naturals

“Home isn’t a place. Home is the people who love you most.”
Jennifer Lynn Barnes

I don’t know about you but I am a huge fan of crime TV shows and movies. And it follows that I like the same genre too when it comes to books. I am just drawn to the suspense and the mystery and the constant guessing game.

So back in February, I was looking for a good crime-slash-mystery book to bury my nose in. I was scouring Goodreads for options when I stumbled upon this series written by Jennifer Lynn Barnes.

The average rating for each book in the series was no less than 4 stars so of course, I couldn’t help but be intrigued. I read a handful of the reviews (because I just could not help myself sometimes even though I shouldn’t ‘cause they usually ruin it for me) and with all the positive feedback, I immediately looked for copies of all four online.

Like I mentioned above, The Naturals is a series comprised of four books all written by Jennifer Lynn Barnes—The Naturals, Killer Instinct, All In, and Bad Blood.

The series is about this group of teenagers with Cassandra “Cassie” Hobbes as the protagonist. All of them were recruited into the FBI’s Naturals Program and henceforth referred to as “The Naturals”.

Cassie is a natural profiler, along with Dean. Lia is a natural at both lying and deceiving and telling whether a person is lying and/or deceiving. Michael is a natural at seeing beyond people’s poker faces—in short, being able to tell what a person is actually feeling at that given point in time. And Sloane is a natural at numbers, statistics, computers, codes, maps, and all those beautiful, migraine-inducing jazz.

I don’t wanna go into a lot of the details as I might end up spoiling the entire series for you. I am, however, going to give you a few bits and pieces to go on with.

The first book started out with how Cassie got recruited into the program plus your usual introductions. The trend of the books is that each crime/story is based off of each of the Natural—either a relative of said Natural is involved or the crime has an uncanny resemblance to their past.

The main plot that connects all four books, though, is the disappearance or murder (you’ll figure out which one exactly once you read the book) of Cassie’s mother. And what I loved most about it is that you think you know what’s going on and then bam, a new “evidence” or “clue” appears and you’re back to knowing absolutely nothing.

The whole series doesn’t build up a lot of mystery so the expectations for a grand ending is not set from the get-go but I am perfectly happy with the turn of events. Plus the ending is really good.

I know, based from a lot of the reviews that I read, that many people were asking for a fifth book but I love that it ended precisely how it did. It didn’t let me down and all my questions were answered.

Of course, there’s always that longing for more. That need to know what happened after but that last sentence in the final book just left me feeling contented and I’m more than okay with knowing just that.

Standard

Thoughts?

