Beauty, Face, Makeup Review

Beauty Review: Maybelline Better Skin Concealer

Say hello to the product that made me fall in love with concealers.

I was never a big of concealing anything on my face. In spite of all the blemishes and acne scars that I have, I never really got into the whole concealer thing. I have a few in my collection because what self-proclaimed makeup addict doesn’t, but I never really use them and I was always content with just foundation.

Then I realized, I probably just did not know how to use them or I don’t have the right product. Either way, I wasn’t a fan.

Then I met the Maybelline SuperStay Better Skin Concealer. I decided to just give this a try because I noticed how dark my under eye area has gotten. It used to be that I can get away with just using foundation but now, the darkness is just too fucking much.

When applied correctly, I noticed a huge change! I got compliments left and right on the first day that I learned how to properly apply my under-eye concealer.

“…visibly [reduce the] appearance of dark circles, spots and imperfections in three weeks.”

–from the Maybelline website

I have been using this for more than 6 months and while it does cover up the darkness, brighten and conceal my under eye area, it doesn’t actually reduce their appearance over time.

It comes in your typical tube with a doe-foot applicator and you get 7.5ml/0.25 fl. oz. of product which isn’t bad given the very affordable price. A tube of this lasted 2 months on me, and I use it every single day.

It’s a creamy consistency that is non-drying and very easy to apply. I’ve used a brush, a damp and dry beauty sponge (one of those cheap Beauty Blender dupes), and my fingers and all worked just fine, but I personally prefer applying with a brush. I don’t use this on my blemishes, though, and mainly focus it on my dark circles and t-zone.

img_0174

The shade Medium on my NC40 skin.

I set this with my Ben Nye Banana Luxury Powder (the original one) and it does not crease on my under eye and really lasts throughout the day (somewhere between 10-12 hours).

Also, a big check for not having a strong fragrance, for not being tacky, and for withstanding the extreme oiliness of my face.

Overall, I’m really impressed. Well I think that’s pretty obvious as I have repurchased this 3 times already!


Available at Bon Marche Page for 350php (but they’re currently on sale for 230php). Also available at local Maybelline counters (those are the Asian version, though, and not sure how those would perform as what I have here is the US one).

Standard

4 thoughts on “Beauty Review: Maybelline Better Skin Concealer

  1. Pingback: Beauty Review | L.A. Girl HD Pro Conceal – A Blog by Victoria

  2. Pingback: Beauty Review: L.A. Girl HD Pro Conceal – a blog by victoria

Thoughts?

