Beauty, Skincare, Western

14 Days After: The Ordinary Alpha Arbutin 2% + HA

By now, I think we’ve all heard of DECIEM’s The Ordinary. It’s most likely one of the most-talked-about recently-launched beauty brands in the world today! And most of us probably have the Wayne Goss to thank for that (if you don’t know who he is, what the fuck are you doing with your life?).


“The Ordinary is an evolving collection of treatments offering familiar, effective clinical technologies positioned to raise pricing and communication integrity in skincare.”

–DECIEM’s website; to know more about The Ordinary, click here.

So the first product from the brand that I tested out is the Alpha Arbutin 2% + HA. If you’re not familiar with Arbutin, it’s  a glycoside extracted from a bearberry plant that prevents the formation of melanin. It is, therefore, one of the most common ingredients in a lot of whitening, skin-lightening products.

HA or Hyaluronic Acid, on the other hand, is a substance that’s naturally found in the skin/produced by our body so people have lesser chances of being irritated to it. Since HA has a high capacity for holding water, it is used in a lot of skin care products to give structure and moisture to damaged tissue. It is especially found in a lot of anti-aging products as it helps retain collagen and provide elasticity.

Processed with VSCO with a9 preset

The Ordinary’s Alpha Arbutin + HA has a pH of 4.85-4.90 which is lesser than the ideal level of 5.5. But it was specifically formulated that way by The Ordinary since 4.9 is shown to be the most suitable pH to minimize degradation of Alpha Arbutin.

This also is free of alcohol, silicone, nuts (important since a lot of people are allergic to this), gluten, cruelty (no to animal testing), and is vegan.

It’s targeted to reduce spots and hyper-pigmentation, which is definitely perfect for someone like me who has like a multitude of acne scars and blemishes.

I use this serum twice a day, morning and evening — after my cleanser and/or toner and before my moisturizer. The consistency is not too runny, but not too thick either; just perfectly in-between. 2 ½ drops is already enough to cover my entire face and my neck. It doesn’t have a noticeable fragrance which is greatly appreciated by my sensitive sinuses. In the first few minutes after application, you feel your skin tightening and when that subsides, you’re left with a smooth and supple skin.

The girlfriend and I actually noticed immediate results. Just a mere 2 days after use, I did notice that some of my newer blemishes have lightened — not into oblivion but it’s a start. I actually wished I took a photo of my face before I started using this just so I could have a comparison for you all.

Anyway, I’ll write an updated review after, say 2 or 3 months of using. But right now, I’ll say that I’m definitely impressed and I’m looking forward to trying more The Ordinary products (next stop: Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1%).


NOTE: May 26th marked the 14th day of me using Alpha Arbutin. I wrote this review on that day but didn’t get to publish it ‘till now because I had to take photos of the product first (#BloggerProblems).

WHERE TO BUY LOCALLY
Dear Crazy Monkeys for 730php.
Standard

5 thoughts on “14 Days After: The Ordinary Alpha Arbutin 2% + HA

  1. Pingback: What’s New Vol. 2 | Mostly Skincare – A Blog by Victoria

Thoughts?

