Beauty Review: Jordana Sweet Cream Matte Liquid Lip Colors

I was going back and forth about which liquid lipstick to buy next after getting the Matte in Detail Liquid Lipsticks (that was such a fail, btw). I wanted to dive into the higher-end brands (ehem Chanel; ehem bareMinerals) but decided against it in the end as I’m a little bit too broke to be spending 1000php+ on a single lipstick.

So when I was browsing Stuff in Style, I saw this Jordana Sweet Cream Matte Liquid Lip Colors. A friend recommended this to me months ago and said that they’re fairly comparable to the infamous Kylie Lip Kits.

I haven’t personally tried those way-too-expensive lip kits but I have to admit that the comparison did intrigue me.


Starts off as a liquid and melts into a velvety-matte finish. Indulge in a light, creamy-whipped feel […] keeps lips comfortable and never dry. […] stays fresh on your lips for up to 16 hours.

Jordana Cosmetics website

Pretty big claims right there. I only got to try Crème Brulee and Tiramisu as I gravitate more towards nude colors lately. We’ll give the darker ones a try next time.

Processed with VSCO with a9 preset

First of all, let’s talk about the packaging. I have a great appreciation for drugstore brands that take into account how their products look and feel like. So I love that these babies don’t feel and look cheap despite the affordable price tag. I also like the embossed “J” at the top of the cap, which is a very fine detail and one that I normally see on higher-end brands.

Also, the hollow doe-foot applicator (okay, I don’t know how else to call it but there’s this hollow part on it instead of just the regular flat or slanted ones) is a first for me and I find that it makes applying the product on the lips easier.

Another thing is the scent. These are very true to its name as they smell like some kind of a sweet dessert concoction of sorts; chocolate according to the girlfriend. The smell’s not really overpowering and doesn’t linger so I don’t mind.

Processed with VSCO with a9 preset

Both of the shades faired almost the same on me; Tiramisu was just a tad better when it came to longevity and overall wear performance.

They both had a velvety-matte finish, both were extremely light on the lips, and both were non-drying and non-tacky, which I really loved. However, they were both seriously patchy on me. I had to layer them thrice to cover up the “empty spots” on my lips but even after three layers of application, I still couldn’t get a full coverage and you could still see my lips underneath.

Processed with VSCO with a9 preset
Wearing Creme Brulee.

This, however, is not the case on the girlfriend. I applied both shades on her just for fun and to see how it would look against her really fair skin (I’m assuming she’s either NC10 or NW10, while I’m NC40). While both were patchy on me, it applied beautifully on her — and she has dry lips! I didn’t even have to do two layers to get her lips fully covered. I initially thought that it’s because of how pigmented my lips are but then again, a lot of other lipsticks (liquid or not) have managed to cover my lips up without any issues. So, meh? I’m confused.

I also noticed that her lips looked so chapped because of how visible the cracks and fine lines are when I applied Crème Brulee on her. But I had no issues with that as neither shades emphasized the lines on my lips.

img_03681
I swear, Tiramisu does not look that red in person.

We both didn’t get to wear them for 16 hours so I can’t say anything about that particular claim but like I said earlier, Tiramisu did last longer on me with lesser fading than Crème Brulee.

Overall, both shades were pretty decent, with Tiramisu being a much better performer. I don’t hate them but I don’t particularly love them, either. I’m still planning on getting a few more shades, specifically the darker ones, just to see if they’re going to perform the same way.

And oh, if these are indeed comparable to the Kylie Lip Kits, then I feel sad for everyone who are just going absolutely gaga over those since they’re not worth the steep price.

WHERE TO BUY LOCALLY
Stuff in Style for 270php.
Author: Victoria

A 20-something corporate slave, professional procrastinator and on-and-off blogger who writes to keep herself sane.

24 thoughts on “Beauty Review: Jordana Sweet Cream Matte Liquid Lip Colors”

  1. Interesting you had completely different experiences vs your friend. I guess it goes to show how individual beauty products can be!
    I’m not a fan of matte lip creams so these would be a pass for me completely! It’s good that an affordable brand is offering these products though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! I had higher expectations of this because of what she said and all the raves around the Kylie Lip Kits. But meh. It was good but not really great. Ohhhh but whyyyy! Matte lip products are amazing! Lol

      Like

  2. The lippies are so cute!! Definitely wanna try em out. Thanks so much for sharing! I love your content and I look forward to reading more of your posts.
    Check me out sometime?
    Mena from noirerewritten.com 🌷

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve actually only tried the Jordana liquid liners before but have thought about trying out their other products. They’re so affordable that half the time I think about the fact that even if I end up not liking them, it’s not the end of the world. Now, like you said, if I buy something high end and it ends up being bad quality, that’s a whole different story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t tried any other Jordana product other than these. And exactly! It wouldn’t be so heartbreaking if in case it doesn’t work. What do you think of their liquid liners? I’m on the hunt for affordable eye liners that actually work. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Their felt tip liner used to be my go-to actually until I discovered the Kat Von D Tattoo Liner (not exactly affordable but I can’t live without it now!) but I always have at least one of the Jordana ones laying around in case my Kat Von D runs out or if I’m just more in the mood for something else!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks! I had that Kat Von D Tattoo Liner and it’s amazing! But it’s expaaaainsive so I need a cheaper alternative. Good to know that I can look into Jordana to get myself a more affordable one. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve never even seen this brand! I do admit nice affordable matte lip creams are hard to find. If I do pick up one from the drugstore, it’s gonna be Nyx, even the Nyx lip liners are pretty awesome. Everything else has failed me. xo

    Like

  5. OMG I’ve been wanting to try these but it’s always sold out in those shades! I feel like I’m just going to have to STOCK those babies every week or go ONLINE SHOPPING:) Lovely review.

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

