Not-So-Current Event: Taxis vs. Grab and Uber

This issue is no longer ‘trending’ on social media, but I thought I’d still put in my two cents because people still need to address this matter.


Just two days ago, I watched a co-worker be declined by two cab drivers and I saw one of those two cab drivers decline 3 more passengers after. Those who live here in Metro Manila and are daily commuters to and from either work or school, know too well the struggles of public transportation.

Lately though, shit has become a lot better ever since Grab and Uber was launched in the Philippines. However, taxi drivers and operators aren’t too ecstatic about this improvement.

Let me just throw this out there and say that we own a taxi and I know too well the struggles of earning money from it for reasons that I would rather not enumerate. But trust me, I know.

In spite of owning a taxi, though, I personally prefer booking a Grab or an Uber ride rather than hailing a cab (here in Manila, at least). First of all, Grab/Uber cars are far more comfortable. They’re also easily accessible and you don’t have to wait in line or be declined by several drivers, multiple times just because where you’re going is “too far” or “traffic is heavy in that direction”. And the most important one: they’re not fucking rip offs unlike most of our taxi drivers here!

I’ve read posts and articles on Facebook about taxi drivers protesting and practically demanding that LTO shut down Grab and Uber because they’re losing income. Well, of course! If they weren’t such a huge pain in the ass in the first place, then people would not opt for Grab or Uber.

Imagine this, going from Trinoma (which is up north) to Market Market (which is all the way down south in Taguig).

“Ay, masyado pong malayo, hanap nalang kayong iba.”
“Ang layo naman!”
“Sige ho, pero dagdagan niyo po ng 100.”
“Okay po, wag na metro, ma’am. 500 nalang po. Ang layo kasi e. Tsaka traffic!”

Well, how about we fucking follow the law, kuya, and use the meter as it is there for a fucking reason?

I completely understand the proximity concern, plus the heavy traffic but how about these drivers not rip us, also hard-working people, off of our hard-earned money? Most drivers even deliberately delay giving change to their passengers because apparently, when the meter stops at 172.50 and you give the driver 200, it automatically means that the rest would be his tip.

So tell me, what gives these taxi drivers the right to protest when they can’t even provide better service to their passengers?


Featured photo from Inquirer.

Author: Victoria

A 20-something corporate slave, professional procrastinator and on-and-off blogger who writes to keep herself sane.

10 thoughts on “Not-So-Current Event: Taxis vs. Grab and Uber”

  1. Taxis have to improve their service. They have to get their heads out of the sand and listen to their customers. Everyone is complaining of the same things about their service. Unless they do it, they will be eased out of existence

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Ah, taxi drivers. As someone who drives a car around the notorious streets of Metro Manila, I’m no stranger to their bullshit tactics behind the wheel. Not using signal lights, cramming their rickety old cabs in tight traffic spots, and a lot more. I’ve also been a witness to their equally deplorable demeanor towards the riding public, especially when the destination is too far. “Pa-garahe na po ako mamser”, “masyado pong malayo iyan mamser”, “traffic po doon” are just some examples (feel free to add more).

    Despite government protection, no one is exempt from the hand of the free market – thus the rise of Grab / Uber. And the customers are expressing their opinions with their wallets and smartphones, signaling the (rather delayed) death knell for Manila taxicabs.

    Apparently, some of them decided to roll up their sleeves and do things their way. I can’t confirm, but I’ve read somewhere that a few taxi drivers have joined Uber / Grab fleets with their idiotic driving skills in tow. Maybe they realized that if they can’t beat the competition, they’ll just join them and destroy it from the inside…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh yes. A few taxi drivers have indeed switched over to driving Uber / Grab cars. I had the unfortunate experience of riding an Uber car driven by a former taxi driver once. I was to get a PHP25 change but he looked at me and was obviously putting off giving me my money.

      “Taxi driver kayo dati ‘no?”
      “Paano mo nalaman?”
      “Hindi kayo marunong magbigay ng sukli e. Word of advice, Uber ho ito. At ang Uber drivers, nagbibigay ng saktong sukli. Wag niyo dalhin ang kasugapaan niyo sa Uber.”

      Then I stepped off the car. Good thing he wasn’t taking me to my house or my work place, just at the mall.

      I seriously hate that they’ve managed to crawl their way into the Uber/Grab business. Tangina, just go away and go back to driving your pesky cabs. If I want to be annoyed by public transportation, I would happily hail a cab. Otherwise, I book my ride for the convenience and the decency of the person behind the wheel.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. With attitudes like that, I look forward to the day when the taxi companies are driven out of business by consumer power! (I doubt that the government and its protectionist policies will push them to improve, most especially with enablers like Bong Suntay still around.)

        Like

  3. Uber came to Toronto not too long ago and there are so many protests from taxi drivers. I personally think it’s good to have competition but Uber came onto the scene without doing proper certifications (for example, they don’t have insurance if they get into an accident!) And I think there is also some issues with taxing on their income from the government. But I do agree, taxis need to improve their service and technology! I think the best way for taxis to fight back is to adopt some of Uber’s concept like being able to order a ride based on proximity. It would help them compete better! Taxi companies got too comfortable and now they need to step up to be competitive.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. The two concerns that you mentioned aren’t really an issue here in the PH because 1) only a handful of people have insurance because it’s not required (I KNOW, RIGHT) and 2) for some reason, the income of public transportation drivers aren’t taxable (AGAIN, I KNOW, RIGHT). The sad AND annoying thing about this, though, is that since taxis are losing income, they decided to drop the cab and just sign up for Uber. I mean, that’s okay but then they brought their NASTY and ROTTEN ways and attitudes with them which is not cool. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

