What’s New Vol. 4 | DECIEM’s The Ordinary

Remember this post? The one where I showed so much restraint and discipline by only buying two The Ordinary (although I only actually got one skin care item) products in spite of the hype around the brand? Well recently, I gave in and got myself 3 more items.

Fortunately (for my wallet), the other items that I wanted were either out of stock or not being sold at all on the shops where I get my The Ordinary fix from.

So here are the items that I got:

  • Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1%
  • Caffeine Solution 5% + EGCG
  • Lactic Acid 10% + HA 2%

Niacinamide is actually the one product out of the three that I have every intention of purchasing and trying out first. However, it was sold out when I made my first purchase so I ended with just the Alpha Arbutin and the High-Adherence Silicone Primer.

It took me weeks to find another shop where this product is being sold without it being super over-priced.

  • Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1%

This product is said to reduce the appearance of skin blemishes and congestion. It is also supported by Zinc which helps balance visible aspects of sebum activity.

Blemishes and oiliness are my top 2 skin issues (aside from it being acne-prone) so you understand why this is the one product that I so desperately want to try out.

  • Caffeine Solution 5% + EGCG

This product actually never went on my to-buy list. I was not in the market for any skincare item that targets eye-area concerns like puffiness or dark circles. However, when I watched this video from Wayne Goss and then later on saw that MUP Store was only selling it for PHP450 (it’s currently sold out on their site, though; see what I mean about these products selling out real quick?), I couldn’t resist.

I don’t have much of an issue with puffiness but I do, however, struggle from having dark circles.  Let’s see if Wayne Goss is right and that you actually get to see immediate results with this product.

  • Lactic Acid 10% + HA 2%

So while the Caffeine Solution was never on my list, this one, on the other hand, was at the very bottom of it. When I hear Lactic Acid, I could only think of Lactacyd which is a brand of feminine wash (aka that liquid thing that you use to wash your vagina) here in the PH. So you could probably imagine what comes into mind when I think about putting it on my face.

But then again, I read that Lactic Acid is actually an AHA (alpha hydroxyl acid) which is a form of acid that actually exfoliates the skin. In short, this product is a chemical exfoliant.

Ever since reading about the effects of too much physical exfoliation (aka face scrubs or using facial brushes to get rid of the dead skin cells), I started looking into chemical exfoliation as an alternative. The first product that came to mind was the CosRX AHA 7 Whitehead Power Liquid but since I’ve read numerous positive reviews of this Lactic Acid and it’s cheaper than CosRX’s, I opted for this instead.


I already started using all three so a review or a 14-day after post on any or all of these is definitely on its way. Next on my list: Azelaic Acid Suspension 10%, Hyaluronic Acid 2% + B5, and of course, the Serum Foundation (I still, unfortunately, can’t find a local shop that sells these).

 

Author: Victoria

A 20-something corporate slave, professional procrastinator and on-and-off blogger who writes to keep herself sane.

17 thoughts on “What’s New Vol. 4 | DECIEM’s The Ordinary”

  1. Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1% is on my wishlist! The Lactic Acid 10% + HA 2% looks intriguing. I hope you find these to be effective for you! The serum foundation is sound out everywhere – they’re backlogged until at least the end of June so hold tight!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t wait for you to get your The Ordinary products! If you have problems with skin textures or those tiny bumps or dry patches, you should definitely pick up Lactic Acid. It’s so far been a great chemical exfoliant for me 🙂 TELL ME ABOUT IT! I’ve been wanting to give the foundation a try ever since I first heard about it but I still can’t find a local online shop where they have it in stock. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Finally, another Filipina blogger! Hold up while I back read all your posts. LOL.

      You should definitely give them a try! The Alpha Arbutin is the only one that I’ve been using for at least a month and I’m really impressed by it. So I just know for sure that all these are going to be amazing as well. 🙂 I got them from mupstore.com (apparently, they’ve become the official distributor of The Ordinary here in the PH already).

      Like

      1. Yaaaas mabuhay!! I actually just started out! Also I loved reading through your posts 💕

        I plan on trying out TO towards the end of the month. I have a loooooot of skincare products in my stash right now and I’m trying to go through them first before splurging on another product lol. But I’m super interested in TO!! It seems like such a promising brand, especially after reading your glowing first impression review x

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hahaha. I’m going through your blog posts right noooow. EEEEPPP I’m so excited. Hahaha ano ba, gurl, kinikilig me. Thank youuu. :p

        They’re mostly serums so even if you already have a lot in your stash, you could still incorporate at least one or two products in your already-set routine. 🙂 Give it a shot! I swear, you won’t regret it! My skin is definitely thanking me for the amazing TLC. I can’t wait to read your thoughts on The Ordinary! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I really do enjoy reading!! What you write about is just my cup of tea ☕️

        I definitely will try them out reaaaally really soon. Can’t wait to see how the other serums work for you too!! There’s just soo much to choose from x

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been seeing a lot of these product lately. I might try them after I use up my current skincare products.

    By the way, the shop where I purchased my recent sheet masks also sell The Ordinary products. They might have some of the items you’re looking for. However, I cannot say for sure if they are an authorized seller.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You definitely should! If you have a lot of skin issues, then The Ordinary products are a definite life saver!!!

      From Shopee, di ba? I already scoured Shopee for the Serum Foundation and I can’t find any. Then again, the damn thing’s backlogged in the DECIEM site and a lot of have been waiting for at least 1 month already to get their orders. So I think that’s why wala pang stocks talaga dito. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  3. OH MY GAD ATE BEKS U ARE BACK????????? I missed you and your blog! Ang tagal ko na din hindi nagbabasa ng blogs 😦 I’m really glad you’re back in beauty blogging! I’ve also become interested sa The Ordinary skincare recently lang and I know na similar ung skin type natin so win-win ito! Hahaha pls do an update ha! I won’t purchase anything muna. I’ll wait for your update. Bwahaha! Let me know din your recos 😀 My gosh I really missed you!!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahaha bwiset. Well sort of beauty blogging lang naman. I want to talk about more personal stuff, too. Pero syempre, di mawawala ang sa makeup at skincare. :p Mga after a month or a month and a half pa bago ako magpost ng review. I need time. Hahahaha. I missed you too, Emae!!! ❤

      For now, though, I shall recommend all of these 3 plus the Alpha Arbutin. So far, lahat ng nabili kong The Ordinary products e super amazing!

      Like

      1. I checked MUP’s site and sold out lahat ng The Ordinary products nila 😦 Doon ka ba bumili, te? Another request pala, pls write about your skincare routine! Hahaha! I stopped doing my old routine kasi parang nagsawa na ung products sa face ko. Wala ng effect. Kaya feel ko it’s about time na matry itong The Ordinary. Tsaka bakit pala ung 10% na Lactic Acid kinuha mo, te? Di ko alam anong difference nila nung 5% :))

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes. There and sa dearcrazymonkeys.com (more expensive than MUP nga lang). Kakainis nga na laging sold out. I need to buy more!!! 😦 Hahaha of course. The routine post is in the works na. I’ll talk about why I got the 10% Lactic Acid but I can’t compare it with the 5% since I don’t have that pero I’ll explain why I chose the 10% personally. 🙂

        Like

  4. I’ve been using this almost exclusively since February. I don’t think I’ll look into another skin care line soon.

    I have Advanced Retinoid 2%, Retinol, Ascorbyl Tetraisopalmitate, Niacinamide, and Lactic Acid.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too, me too! Grabe. I didn’t know that I could like my skin and doing my skincare routine this much.

      How’s the Retinoid and Retinol? Thinking about getting those too.

      Like

Thoughts?

