Beauty, Eyes, Makeup Review

Battle of the Eye Primers: Urban Decay vs. Wet n Wild

This battle is not about how long these primers were able to make my eyeshadow last or how much they made them pop because I have temporarily quit putting any eye makeup on (not even eyeliner or mascara–well I put mascara sometimes, but not everyday).

This battle is going to be about how long these primers kept my lids matte because as with the rest of my face, my lids are also greasy as fuck which is just terribly annoying.

I have tried numerous eye primers before, from drugstore to high-end, but the Urban Decay Primer Potion–which is a cult favorite–is the only one that was able to withstand the nightmare that is my lids. So when I found out that this semi-recently released Wet n Wild Photo Focus Eyeshadow Primer is a dupe for that, I immediately purchased a tube to test it out for myself. Plus, I’m almost out of the UDPP and I really am just too broke to be getting myself another tube.

ROUND ONE: PACKAGING & PRICE

The UDPP comes in a purple (my favorite color so I just had to mention that part) tube with a doe-foot applicator. The Wet n Wild one, though, comes in a black and white squeeze tube with a nozzle. They both look good and work perfectly fine so I’ve got no issues with either.

The price, of course, differs by a lot as UD is a high-end brand and WnW is drugstore. I only have the travel-size of the UDPP (0.20 fl oz; regular size has 0.37 fl oz) so it is smaller; the Wet n Wild which only has one size has 0.34 fl oz. Even with the fact that UDPP is just the travel-size, it is still a hell of a lot pricier as it costs US$16 and about PHP1,000+ locally, depending on which shop you’re going to be buying it from. The Wet n Wild, however, only costs US$4.99 and I got it for just PHP350.

ROUND TWO: APPLICATION

They both pretty much apply the same way–smoothly without any tugging. And both of these have no pigment so if you’re looking for a primer with a little bit of coverage, these two ain’t the ones for you. There’s no tackiness and stickiness which is what I personally prefer as who would want to feel like they have glue on their lids???

They also have the same consistency which is not too thick and not too runny, just perfectly in-between.

ROUND THREE: LONGEVITY

Now this is the true test for me as like I mentioned, I need a primer that’s able to control ze oils on ze lids.

So my typical day is anywhere between 12 hours and 16 hours. With just a single application, the UDPP was able to handle the greasiness of my lids and the tropical plus summer heat in this country for a maximum of 16 hours (which is all the time that I got to wear it)–all without creasing and even a tad of oil build up.

I am happy to announce that the Wet n Wild Photo Focus Primer did not disappoint as well! There was this instance when I had to run some errand after work so I went straight to that without even bothering to reapply/retouch my makeup. So I wore the WnW primer from 8:30PM up until 2PM the next day. That’s 18+ hours, taking into account that it’s currently the summer here in the PH which means double the heat, and the damn thing didn’t even budge!

Overall, I would say that the winner is the Wet n Wild Photo Focus Eyeshadow Primer. There’s not one single bad thing about how the UDPP performed but with how affordable the Wet n Wild is, I would rather go for that one instead of splurging on a product that works just the same.

If you swear by the Urban Decay Primer Potion, I would highly suggest trying out the Wet n Wild one. It’s a definite dupe and for less than half the price–who would say no to that??

WHERE TO BUY LOCALLY
Both are available at Stuff in Style; UDPP for PHP1,100 and WNW for PHP350.
Standard

9 thoughts on “Battle of the Eye Primers: Urban Decay vs. Wet n Wild

  1. Yesss thank you! I swear by the wet n wild Primer, it’s literally the best eyeshadow Primer out there. People need to get on it! Nothing else works as well honestly. Loved reading this x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Whuuuut?! Something comparable to the Urban Decay Eye Shadow Primer Potion? That stuff is the only thing that’s ever been able to keep my eye shadow in place… I’m definitely gonna give this Wet’n’Wild one a try!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I tried the UDPP a long time ago and I found it too drying for my lids. I also found it difficult to blend powder products on top. It looks like Wet n Wild basically duped the UDPP! Maybe I should try the WnW version to see how i like it… I mean, it’s so inexpensive! Right now I’m using Nars… it works but so pricey.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I tried its old formula (when it was still in that weird looking bottle) and I experienced the same dryness on my lids. Fortunately, this new formula is A LOT better. If you have dry lids, though, these may not be okay because they’re really mattifying. -.-

      Like

  4. Yasss!!! I love the Urban Decay Primer Potion as it’s the only primer that keeps my eye makeup in place, but it is quite expensive and I don’t even use eye shadow that much! I’ll try the Wet n Wild one when I run out of my UDPP. Thanks for this post!!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Not sure about keeping eye makeup in place as I’ve mentioned here that I don’t use it for the purposes of being an eyeshadow base/primer. However, if you’re looking for a primer that keeps your lids from the grease-fest and creasing, then this is a perfect cheaper alternative! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

