Humble Brag: WordPress Featured Yours Truly

This is going to be a really quick and impromptu post. I simply cannot contain the happiness and giddiness and excitement that I feel right now that I feel that this “event” has to be published and immortalized on this blog. 

So do you guys remember this post? You know, the one where I gave you an unsolicited blogging tip/advice? Well, while that post was published a few weeks ago, it wasn’t until earlier today that the official Instagram of WordPress.com featured me — me, my Instagram, and that blog post on their page.

To say that I was shocked and ecstatic would probably be an understatement. I’m still in awe and I honestly can’t contain it right now. I know that I’ve been blogging for years (more than a decade, actually) but it’s still a humbling and amazing feeling when other people, especially notable groups and organizations and individuals, plus international platforms, notice me.

Capture1

I said it once and I’ll say it again (and again and again): CONTENT IS MORE IMPORTANT THAN STATISTICS. Please remember that and take a mental note of it. Putting out great content is the key and main ingredient to getting more readers.

If your content is shit and all you do is follow a bunch of people, comment senseless things (and when I say “senseless” I mean those that make it obvious that the content wasn’t actually read) on posts just to get noticed, and “mass like” people’s contents in the hopes of getting a follow or a follow-back, well you gotz to check yo’self, honey.

There’s nothing wrong with wanting to get a lot of followers. But then again, what’s a thousand followers if they’re not even reading your posts as opposed to a hundred (or maybe less) actual readers of your blog. Now, isn’t the latter better?

I will never get today’s generation of bloggers’ obsessions over statistics. They’re numbers — they are just numbers and going gaga over them is just absolutely unnecessary.

Well, that’s it for this quick post. I was supposed to publish a different one today but to hell with that! LOL.


Featured image from Pexels.

8 thoughts on “Humble Brag: WordPress Featured Yours Truly

What d'ya think?

