Beauty Review: L.A. Girl Matte Flat Velvet Lipstick

Let’s talk about lipsticks for a bit. Now I think we’re all probably already aware that I have quite the lipstick addiction. I have more products in my stash than one needs in their lifetime, and yet somehow, I still don’t find them enough. I know, I’m sick in the head. Then again, isn’t that how an addiction is defined? LOL.

So I have here these three babies that I got completely on impulse. Sure I did want to give them a try, too, but there were just far more lipsticks on my wishlist that I’ve deemed as “higher priority”.

But we’re here now and there’s no point in regretting that decision, right?

LA Girl Matte Flat Velvet 2
Excuse the lack of light.

Rich in pigment and filled with moisture. With added shea butter to hydrate lips and a soft, smooth application, your lips will feel as gorgeous as they look!

— L.A. Girl website

When I got these, the shade selection were, least to say, disappointing. I ended up (wallet’s happy about this, though) only being drawn to 3 shades — Snuggle, Runway, Spicy — which is the reason why I only have those.

But now (this is a fact that I just found out myself), they already have an impressive 26-shade selection, so I might get my hands on a few more.

Well, you might have already guessed this (seeing that I want to get more): I like them. They aren’t crazy pigmented which is completely fine by me since they are still buildable to the opacity that one prefers without giving off that heavy feeling on the lips.

LA Girl Matte Flat Velvet 3
About 3 layers for each swatch.

They glide smoothly without any tugging; no feathering or bleeding even with no lip liner; no tackiness; non-drying and has a moisturizing matte finish, and most importantly, the longevity is notable as these last for some 4-5 hours with very minimal fading. Mind you, I eat and drink a lot throughout the day plus I smoke (be judgmental somewhere else) so that 4 hours is already amazing, taking into account my lifestyle.

My only qualm about these is how big they are. Alright alright, my lips are huge but then even with that fact, I still find this ginormous and difficult to apply without going beyond my natural lip line. So I could just imagine the struggle of those who have thin/thinner lips.

Other than that, thumbs up for everything else, including the very affordable price tag. Now, give me just a second while my inner selves fight and basically UFC their way into figuring out whether I should buy more of these or not.

WHERE TO BUY LOCALLY
Pre-order (and cheaper): Makeup Inbox PH for PHP165
On-hand: Stuff in Style for PHP200

This is Day 13 of my #30DaysOfWriting Challenge as I technically did just write this today. 
13 thoughts on “Beauty Review: L.A. Girl Matte Flat Velvet Lipstick

  1. Buy more – these are so affordable! 😉 But I guess a saving grace is that you won’t be drawn to all the shades. 😛
    Hmm you’re right though, the shape of the bullets do seem large – they’re more appropriate for lip balms.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are such an enabler! Hahahaha. And yes, I definitely (nah, maybe 96%) will be buying more 🙂 And yes, they are huge! That definitely was a disappointment. 😦

      Like

What d'ya think?

