L.A. Girl HD Pro Conceal — Review of A Cult Favorite

Y’all know that it was not too long ago that I fell in love with concealers. So before emptying my third tube of the Maybelline Better Skin Concealer, I decided to already scour the internet for other drugstore concealers that I could try next.

Then I remembered this cult favorite: LA Girl HD Pro Conceal that’s often compared to and referred as a dupe for the MAC ProLongwear HD Concealer. I remember having this years ago, long before it was even in the radars of many makeup enthusiasts and addicts in the world. But I also remember never actually using it because like I already mentioned in my review of the Maybelline product, I was never into concealers and I just had them for the sake of having them.

But about two months ago, I finally repurchased and I actually used it this time since I finally learned how to apply my concealer properly. YAY ME!

Crease-resistant with opaque coverage in a creamy, yet lightweight texture. Provides complete, natural-looking coverage, evens skin tone, covers dark circles, and minimizes fine lines around the eyes.

— L.A. Girl website

The packaging is just this typical squeeze tube but instead of a nozzle, this has a brush-type applicator at the end. I would say the applicator is pretty much useless when it comes to actually applying and blending the product on the face so you still need a brush, a sponge, or your fingers to get the product evenly applied on the skin.

I was shocked the first time I applied this as a small amount really does go a long way. I used the same amount that I usually use with my Maybelline concealer but that proved to be too much with this product. But that is, of course, a good thing.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Seriously, it’s so hard to swatch these, UGH!

I first purchased the shade Medium Beige (which I just noticed upon looking at the useless swatch above has more of neutral/pink undertone) and since I will mainly use it to brighten up my under-eye and t-zone area, this went a little bit too dark. It is the same shade as my skin which is perfect for covering up blemishes but for brightening purposes, I had to buy the shade Pure Beige (perfect yellow undertone)—which is a shade or two lighter.

This went on really creamy and easily on my skin and was able to perfectly conceal and cover up the problematic areas–dark circles, pigmentation around my nose, and even the blemishes aka acne scars around my cheeks. Like I mentioned, a little amount definitely goes a long way with this one. I also love that it does not crease, even without a setting powder on top. It also doesn’t add to the oil build up on my face and the same amount of greasiness that I normally experience remained the same (sucks but at least).

THIS HAS WAX, YOU GUYS!!!

Without powder on top though, this does transfer so be sure to set/finish it with one. But thankfully, it doesn’t fade as quickly as opposed to my other face products–including most of my foundations which claims to be long-lasting (NOT).

Now I know why a lot of people swear by this product. It works perfectly, comes in a wide shade range that would fit a lot of skin tones, and at such an affordable price, which of course, you can’t go wrong with!

WHERE TO BUY LOCALLY
Stuff in Style for 250php.

P.S.

Okay, I’ve decided to temporarily quit my #30DaysOfWriting Challenge. Haha, I suck at going through shit that I start (it’s a sickness).

Also, I’ve set my old blog back for public viewing (it was set on private a few months after I’ve completely abandoned it). There are a lot of broken links, though, so please don’t hold me responsible if you click on something and it doesn’t get you anywhere. LOL.
16 thoughts on “L.A. Girl HD Pro Conceal — Review of A Cult Favorite

  1. I finally opened my tube up and it is REALLY good! I did not have easy access to this and was going to order it online but stumbled upon it at a random beauty store. Good thing too because the shades run DARK. I ended up with Light Ivory which matches me really well. I agree, it is super pigmented and doesn’t crease!

    Like

    1. Yey for finding one locally! I love the fact that not only does it work amazingly, it also is super affordable! I mean, who could say no to that???? :p

      And yes, I’m glad too. I thought about moving here years ago but never got around to it, really. Happy that I finally did! 🙂

      Like

  2. I’ve heard a lot of good things about this concealer and I’ve been meaning to try this after my current concealer runs out. Will take note of your comments about picking the right shade!

    Like

      1. Neither. Hahaha. I really just wear undereye concealer and powder (on my face). :p And lol, thank you. But really, I cheat my way into looking decent. The perks of this modern technology. :p

        Like

What d'ya think?

