Food, Marikina, Places

Eating Hapon Food on a Windy Hapon @ the Happon Ramen House

Excuse me, I think I have ramen fever. Ever since our trip to Shizen a few weeks back, I’ve been constantly craving for ramen. It’s bad for the health but it’s so good for the tummy.

So when the opportunity to eat ramen knocked, of course, I couldn’t just let it pass. I initially wanted the bestfriend to give Shizen a try but due to circumstances, we ended up at another ramen place here in Marikina – Happon Ramen House.

Spicy Miso Chashumen (PHP188)

Spicy Miso Chashumen (PHP188)

Chicken Paitan Chashumen (PHP178)

Chicken Paitan Chashumen (PHP178)

I’m pretty psyched that Happon has more than one spicy variant on their menu. Because I’m a spicy-loving individual, I ordered the Spicy Miso Chashumen while the bestfriend got the Chicken Paitan Chashumen. We also ordered their 5-pc Gyoza and 5-pc Chicken Karaage.

In case you’re wondering:

MISO – miso-based soup (duh)
PAITAN – salt-based soup
RAMEN* – no egg; only has one piece of meat
CHASHUMEN – one egg; two pieces of meat
*we didn’t order this but you will see it on the menu, which I posted a photo of below.

Okay. Let me tell you right now, their Spicy Miso Chashumen is not for the faint of heart (I don’t think it’s the spiciest ever but it’s up there; possibly about 3.75 out of 5). Now I like spicy food and I actually prefer it on more than one occasion but damn this one was spicy on a level that I did not expect. In fact, I finished one tall glass of water before I was even halfway through the bowl.

Fortunately, it tasted amazing! The noodles were just the right amount and were cooked just right. The eggs were half-boiled which I prefer and the chashu meat was soft and tasty.

Gyoza – 5pcs. (PHP78)

Gyoza – 5pcs. (PHP78)

Karaage – 5pcs. (PHP88)

Karaage – 5pcs. (PHP88)

The gyoza sadly lacked filling but they were, at least, seasoned very well so the taste made up for it. Plus, they’re seriously affordable so I’m not complaining.

Then there’s the chicken karaage which the bestfriend insisted I try. It wasn’t rubbery, it wasn’t bland; overall, it tasted good but I’m just personally not a big fan of chickens (except for spicy buffalo wings which I could eat all day) so it wasn’t all that for me.

Well, I’m happy that I finally got to try this place. The food tasted great and they’re all very affordable so two thumbs up for those. Also, the service was good; server was friendly and accommodating and we got our food fairly quickly. I can’t wait to take the girlfriend here.

HAPPON RAMEN HOUSE
11AM-10PM (CLOSED ON TUESDAYS); Fri & Sat: 11AM-11PM; Sun: 11AM-9PM
70 Cepeda Corner Colonel Divino Street, Concepcion Uno, Marikina City
0922-8037460

 

P.S. If you’re Filipino or understand/know how to speak our language, you’d easily get the title of this post. I feel soooo witty. *wink*
Standard

4 thoughts on “Eating Hapon Food on a Windy Hapon @ the Happon Ramen House

Thoughts?

