Clean & Clear Essentials Moisturizer — is it still my Holy Grail?

Two years ago, after merely 4 weeks of use, I decided that the Clean & Clear Essentials Moisturizer is worthy of having the Holy Grail status in my book. I thought so highly of it mainly because the shit didn’t break me out unlike all the other moisturizers that came before it.

I believed, with every fiber of my being, that this didn’t add to the grease-fest that happens on my face on the daily and that it moisturized my skin really well. I even thought, at some point, that this made my foundation last for almost 10 hours.

HAHAHA, self. NO, self.

In my defense, though, I was such a naïve skincare user back then and didn’t really know better. Heck, I didn’t even know the difference between dry skin and dehydrated skin. The only thing that mattered to me at the time was this shit better not cause any pimple growth because otherwise, off to the trash bin it goes.

Now that I have more skincare knowledge, I suppose I’m better equipped to assess if a particular product actually works or not (on me, at least).

Spoiler alert: THIS CRAP ABSOLUTELY DID NOT.

I have a multitude of skin issues that I deal with every. single. day. and while I’m not expecting a single product to take care of all those, I, at the very least, expect my moisturizer to handle my combination skin (leaning more on the extremely oily spectrum —  just imagine how hard it is to find one that takes care of dry patches and at the same time doesn’t add to the oil build up) and of course, not cause breakouts.

This sorry-ass product (god bless its soul) was sadly just a disappointment. It was moisturizing… but only for 30 fucking minutes — excuse me, I need more than just half an hour, thank you very much.

Plus, it made me so goddamn greasy which, sans blotting and touching up, ended up making me look like you could fucking fry eggs and bacon on my face. So much for a product that claims to be oil-free.

I even stupidly said on my review of this 2 years back that it only made me look dewy but hell to the fucking no, sistah. When I started trying out other moisturizers this year, I noticed how the grease production significantly decreased.

I never truly realized the fact that it adds to the greasiness because 1) I really do have extremely oily skin from the get-go so oil build up additional or not doesn’t surprise me and 2) on those days when I didn’t use this moisturizer, I didn’t notice a visible difference. The 2nd bit, though, just helped me conclude now that this product most likely is one of the reasons (if not the reason) why I was superbly oily back then which is why applied or not, the oiliness level was just the same.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

The only saving grace of this product is its affordability and how a little goes a long way which makes it even more practical (read: almost 2 years of everyday use and I’ve only gone through 3 bottles of this and it only has 50ml; the 4th is what I currently have in my stash).

But even the practicality can’t make me repurchase this. I’ve given nah, more like wasted — two years of my life on what I now basically deem as a useless product. That’s more than enough, if you ask me.

WHERE TO BUY LOCALLY
Beauty section of most department stores. Can’t remember the price but it was less than PHP150.
11 thoughts on “Clean & Clear Essentials Moisturizer — is it still my Holy Grail?

  1. I couldn’t stop laughing at how accurate this post was! I’ve recently been loving my Formula 10.0.6 Seriously Shine Free moisturizer and can’t stop talking about it over on my blog! I too used to use this moisturizer, but never again!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sorry it took you so long to realize that the moisturizer wasn’t working for you!! Happened to me too with my old oil cleanser, which I found was the root cause of my breakouts after 8 months of use! At least you know better know. Bad experiences make good life lessons x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha Sorry your relationship ended so badly…sometimes it takes some growing up to realize you’re not meant to be together. I’ll admit it. I’m a total and utter snob when it comes to drugstore skin care. I’ve had so many bad experiences, I won’t even give them a try anymore. :/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was such a bad break up. I cannot believe it took me two years to finally realize that I deserve better! 😢 Aww. I haven’t tried many drugstore skincare myself but I’m so far loving a lot of Korean ones.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Heh, it happens! I’m sure I said I loved the Oil of Olay daily moisturizer when I used it years ago but now I wouldn’t touch it with a 10 ft pole! Sometimes I can talk myself into believing things…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha. Well I thought I was the only one. I felt so embarrassed when I finally realized that I called this a Holy Grail product when in fact, this wasn’t working out for me. It sucks when things don’t turn to be what we want them to be. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

What d'ya think?

