Sherbet Cleansing with the Banila Co. Clean It Zero

I have tried a few cleansing oils in my time and while I do think that they actually work, I just don’t like the mess that comes along with using them. I remember being super annoyed by the oil dripping down my arm and onto my legs or whatever I’m wearing. Then there’s the oil dripping down my neck and onto my boobs.

It’s not that big of a deal for some but for me, it’s just fucking annoying.

So while they were absolutely great at removing makeup and cleansing my face, I decided to just stick to cleansing wipes and micellar waters (both of which tend to dry my skin up, except for this one), and bi-phase cleansers for waterproof eye makeup and liquid lipsticks—all to avoid the irritating oil running down my body.

Recently, though, I found a new type (maybe not new but definitely new to me) of makeup remover that immediately caught my attention: sherbet cleansers.

For those who aren’t familiar, these are also referred to as cleansing balms and they’re basically just the solid version of cleansing oils. As far as application and ‘power’ to remove makeup (of course, this still depends on the product itself but as a consensus on these products) goes, they both work similarly.

I did the research, scoured the internet, read reviews after reviews and they all boil down to one product: Banila Co.’s Clean It Zero sherbet cleanser. This line comes in 4 variants and I chose Resveratrol as that one’s purported for oily skin types.

I’m not really sure if there are any major differences between the four but Resveratrol definitely did right by me. I seriously cannot believe that it took me this long to get into the cleansing balm hype but now that I’m in, there’s definitely no going back!

INGREDIENTS: Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, PEG-20 Glyceryl Triisostearate, PEG-10 Isostearate, Polyethylene, Butylene Glycol, Water, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oilm, Propanediol, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Vine Extract, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Root Extract, Thuja Orientalis Leaf Extract, Zanthoxylum Piperitum Fruit Extract, Resveratrol, Butylparaben, CI 42090, CI 19140, Fragrance
I use two scoops on my face. (One scoop for me is the one on the photo.)

The product is kinda like a soft wax that you scoop out of the tub (using the spatula that comes with this; thank god!) and put it on your face. You then massage it on your skin and it turns into a non-messy oil-like, milky substance that instantly melts away the dirt and the makeup—yes, even the waterproof ones!

And oh, it smells super amazing! It has this fruity scent that I can’t put my finger on but it’s definitely sweet but not too much that it becomes overpowering. (Wait, I just went back and looked over the ingredients list and it’s looking like the scent is from the grape extract in this.)

After washing it off, my face felt super cleansed and smooth and I feel like this thing actually removed everything! And I mean everything, like even the dirt that’s been hiding under my skin, it has managed to scoop up to the surface and remove (lol I don’t know that for sure but it definitely feels like it).

I don’t have to use too much as two tiny scoops are enough for my entire face and neck. I add in half a scoop to go over my brows and/or eye makeup plus my lips. I have been using this for almost a month and thankfully, no breakouts or irritations—just pure cleansing goodness!

For someone who gravely dislikes removing makeup (let’s face it, it’s just a tedious job especially when you’re already dead tired from work/school/something else) but because of this, I find myself always looking forward to going home and starting my routine.

I’m thinking about also trying the other variants of the Clean It Zero and the cleansing balm from Heimish but right now, I’m extremely happy and satisfied with this product!

WHERE TO BUY LOCALLY
Althea Korea for PHP1,320 (regular price); currently on sale for PHP1,040. If you’re a new Althea customer, purchase through this link* to get a discount on your total.

*Disclaimer: I’m not an affiliate of Althea Korea but they have this referral program which means if you purchase from my link, I will be given the same amount (as the discount that you got) that I can then use for future purchase.

Author: Victoria

A 20-something corporate slave, professional procrastinator and on-and-off blogger who writes to keep herself sane.

4 thoughts on “Sherbet Cleansing with the Banila Co. Clean It Zero”

    1. It definitely is worth the hype. Both micellar waters and cleansing wipes just tend to make you use too much product pero di naman talaga nabubura lahat. And cleansing oils are just a mess. So I’m really happy about these cleansing balms! 🙂

      Like

Thoughts?

